Discovery Channel Begins Production on New Format of ‘Street Outlaws: No Prep Kings’


America’s fastest street racers are back for their wildest ride yet in an all-new format of Discovery Channel’s “Street Outlaws: No Prep Kings,” which starts production June 1 in Ohio. The stakes are higher than ever with more souped-up cars, more drivers---and for the first time, a new fan-nominated team captain.

For the past three seasons of “Street Outlaws: No Prep Kings,” the 405’s top racer, Ryan Martin, has captured the No Prep Kings Championship. But this year, No Prep Kings will be turned on its head. Instead of individual drivers racing for the championship, eight teams will be competing for the title. At the first event, eight captains will draft their rosters from a pool of 40+ drivers. At the end of 15 No Prep Kings events held across the U.S., the team with the most wins will take home the No Prep Kings Championship.

And there is another twist---this year, fans will have the opportunity to choose one of the eight team captains, the People’s Choice Captain. Through an interactive experience that begins April 24 and ends May 31 at 11 p.m. ET on, fans can vote for their favorite team leader: Lizzy Musi, Robin Roberts, Daddy Dave, Jerry Bird, Scott Taylor, Jim Howe, Birdman or Kayla Morton. The People’s Choice Captain will be announced shortly after polls close.

In addition to the People’s Choice Captain, the seven returning team captains will be Ryan Martin, Shawn Ellington, Kye Kelley, Disco Dean Karnes, Justin Swanstrom, Mike Murillo and Jermaine Boddie.

Viewers can join the conversation on social media by using #StreetOutlaws: No Prep Kings and following Street Outlaws on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

“Street Outlaws: No Prep Kings” is produced by Lionsgate’s Pilgrim Media Group.

Source: Discovery Channel

AkzoNobel Beta web graphic v2 600px

Shop & Product Showcase