CAPA Announces Terry Fortner as Executive Director 

Fortner succeeded Clark Plucinski in the role as of Jan. 1.


The Certified Automotive Parts Association (CAPA), an independent nonprofit standard-setting and certification organization for automotive crash parts, announced Terry Fortner has succeeded Clark Plucinski as CAPA executive director, as of Jan. 1. 

Fortner brings with him more than four decades of leadership experience and an intimate knowledge of the automotive aftermarket. After 32 years in leadership at Nationwide Insurance, Fortner joined LKQ Corporation in 2009. Over a 13-year tenure, he led industry relations and corporate accounts before serving as vice president of sales and marketing for the entirety of North America. 

“Terry will bring a wealth of experience to CAPA, and I am thrilled to hand over to someone with his knowledge and enthusiasm,” said Plucinski, CAPA chair. “The board looks forward to CAPA’s continued success under his leadership.” 

“I am proud to be a part of this great organization which has set the gold standard for high quality, alternative parts for over 30 years,” said Fortner. “I look forward to creating strategic relationships and continuing to build on this legacy, which has already contributed immensely to the automotive industry.” 

Alongside his position as CAPA executive director, Fortner is chief advisor for Fortner Advisory and Development, LLC, where he acts as a consultant and advisor, specializing in the automotive industry, auto physical damage claims processes, leadership and executive coaching. Fortner has also served as chair and chairman emeritus for the Collision Repair Education Foundation (CREF) as well as other collision industry organizations.

CAPA’s Board of Directors includes: 

  • Clark Plucinski, chair, The Boyd Group 
  • John Rowland, Krause Auto Group 
  • Mark Scafati, LKQ 
  • Chris Northup, Professional Parts, Inc. 
  • Sandee Lindorfer, Allstate 
  • Kim Hare, Farmers Insurance 
  • Troy Penry, GEICO 
  • Brian Fening, Liberty Mutual 
  • Jim Gadberry, Nationwide 
  • John Reton, Progressive 
  • Brianne Jones, State Farm Mutual Insurance 
  • Jeff Procaccini, Travelers 
  • Jack Gillis, Advocates for Highway and Auto Safety 
  • Kerry Tapio, Intertek

AkzoNobel Beta web graphic v2 600px

Shop & Product Showcase