Friday, 04 June 2021 21:02

CAWA Announces 2021 Automotive High School Teacher Scholarship Winners

Share This:


CAWA, representing the automotive parts industry, announced the recipients of its 2021 automotive high school teacher scholarship awards.

Named the Motorcar Parts of America-Selwyn Joffe awards, CAWA provided three scholarships this year to high school teachers to support their automotive programs. 


"CAWA is proud to assist these automotive high school teachers, in part, to assure their programs remain viable and well-resourced for the benefit of their students and our industry," said Rodney Pierini, president and CEO, in announcing the awards.


Recipients of the scholarships include:


  • James Hooker, Taft Union High School, to purchase engine parts for classroom use
  • Gary Semerdjian, Santa Ynez High School, to purchase tools and supplies for classroom use
  • Keith Benson, Petaluma High School, to purchase parts and supplies for classroom use

The primary scholarship fundraising effort for this scholarship program is CAWA's annual dinner gala held traditionally the Sunday night before the AAPEX and SEMA shows. This year, the gala will be held on Oct. 31 at the Venetian Hotel. For details, email programs@cawa.org.


To contribute to the association's scholarship fund, see www.cawa.org, or to donate prizes for the 2021 fundraising auction, contact Rodney Pierini at 800-332-2292, ext. 1201 or admin@cawa.org.


Source: CAWA

Read 35 times