Twitter You Tube Facebook Autobodynews Linked In

Wednesday, 23 May 2018 16:08

ASA Northwest Spokane Chapter Celebrates Excellence

Written by
Scholarship winners Harrison Goecke, Harley Hurst, Adam Shears and ASA Northwest Chair Bryan Kelly (accepting on behalf of Adam Richardson, who was unable to attend). Scholarship winners Harrison Goecke, Harley Hurst, Adam Shears and ASA Northwest Chair Bryan Kelly (accepting on behalf of Adam Richardson, who was unable to attend).

On May 9, the Spokane Chapter of ASA Northwest held its third annual Celebration of Excellence Awards Ceremony at Spokane Community College in Spokane, WA.

The event was designed to bring the industry together with educators to support automotive students. Local shops also attended to support the event. Pamela Meyer, ASA Northwest’s Eastern Washington membership support specialist, organized the event with assistance from Ben Prickett, owner of Lake City Auto Care and other Spokane chapter members.

According to Meyer, “This event gives ASA Northwest Spokane Chapter the opportunity to recognize both the students and the educators for what they do for the automotive industry. ASA Northwest sees the importance of getting behind these educators and supporting the students that are going to be our future workers.”

Bill Rustemeyer, Jeff Coffey, Jeff Rogers, Stacy Rogers and Tom Conners, all automotive instructors from Spokane Community College, each chose the top three students in their classes for each of the following categories: Highest GPA, Best Attendance and Best “Go To” Student. Pickett helped facilitate the awards presentation. 

The recipients of the Highest GPA awards were Robbie Spencer, April Shining, Chad Curless, Kalvin Rowan and Santana Santiago. Best Attendance was awarded to Ryan Lewis, Michael Battin, Randy McReynolds, Win Kyi and Peter Nelson. The winners for the Best “Go To” Student awards were Kiernan Sowl, Ted Jackson, John Ross, Aaron Neale and Garett Baker. 

Lovell provided information on the apprenticeship program that ASA Northwest is currently developing. He also announced that the association will coordinate a “Super ATE” in Spokane, scheduled for September 2019. Brian Smith, immediate past chairman for ASA Northwest, discussed what it’s like to work for an independent automotive shop. Chairman Elect Bryan Kelly shared statistics on how many cars are worked on by independent shops, then ASE representative Walt Commons provided an Automotive and ASE Industry Update.

Finally, ASA Northwest member Ed Cushman shared background information on the scholarships that the Spokane Chapter awards before the scholarship presentations began. Spokane Community College student Harley Hurst received a $750 Buz Throndsen Scholarship and Adam Shears from Spokane Community College was awarded a $1,000 Pete and Cherie Hunt Scholarship. A second Pete and Cherie Hunt Scholarship was awarded to Harrison Goecke of North Idaho College. The recipient of the $1,000 Buz Throndsen Scholarship was South Seattle Community College student Adam Richardson, but since he was unable to attend, Bryan Kelly accepted the scholarship on his behalf; Richardson was presented with his scholarship check at the Sno-King South chapter meeting on May 17. 

Following the awards ceremony, attendees indulged in appetizers, desserts and beverages during the reception sponsored by Scott Cushman of C&H Foreign Auto Repair

For more information about ASA Northwest, visit

Read 619 times