Monday, 11 May 2015 00:00

AAAS Announces 2015 Scholarship Winners

Since 2005, the AAAS Education Foundation's (AAASEF) Scholarship Program has provided deserving students with financial assistance.

These scholarships are available annually thanks to the generosity of AAAS members and friends as well as the dedication of AAAS's volunteers. Priority is given to association members, their employees and their family members who are pursuing a post-secondary education. Last month, AAASEF Chairman Clyde Darville of 3-D Service in Tampa, FL proudly announced the winners of the 2015 AAASEF scholarships for the 2015-16 academic year.



In order to receive an AAASEF scholarship, students must be sponsored by an association member. This year's scholarship recipients are Kyle Beasley of Honoraville, AL, Lauren Lewis of Greenville, AL, Patrick Rumore of Birmingham, AL, Cole Turner of Wetumpka, AL, and Alex Ward of Bainbridge, GA.

AAASEF also awarded six memorial scholarships which are endowed by AAAS members, family and friends. This year, Justin Lee of Union Grove, AL and Whitney Nabors of Boaz, AL received the Stan Waits Memorial Scholarship, while the Gertrude Ellis Memorial Scholarship was awarded to Daniel Ellard of Mobile, AL and Olivia Kempwerth of Birmingham, AL. Rachel Berbert of Marianna, FL was awarded the Dick Bell Memorial Scholarship, and the recipient of the Al Hines Memorial Scholarship was Luke Liles of Tallahassee, FL.

In an effort to enhance and expand the capabilities of AAAS members, AASEF also reserves scholarship funds for association members and their employees who wish to further their education or enhance their skills through trade schools, junior colleges or OEM-sponsored clinics. Because AAAS collaborates with the Global Automotive Aftermarket Symposium (GAAS) Scholarship Committee, students can be considered for the AAASEF and GAAS scholarships as well as other industry awards by completing one online application at www.automotivescholarships.com/AAAS.

Those interested in supporting the AAAS Education Foundation can make a tax-deductible donation to AAAS using the contribution forms under the Education tab at www.aaas.us. Donations can be mailed to AAAS Edcuation Foundation, 11245 Chantilly Parkway Court, Montgomery, AL 36117.

Read 1663 times