Twitter You Tube Facebook Autobodynews Linked In

Friday, 14 June 2019 17:32

AAAS and ATDA Announces 2019 Scholarship Winners

Written by


The Automotive Aftermarket Association Southeast (AAAS) and the Alabama Tire Dealers Association (ATDA) announced the recipients of their 2019 scholarships for the 2019-2020 academic year.


AAAS awarded 26 scholarships through its Foundation. The 2019 recipients are Brannon Brown, Vernon Brown, Douglas Brown Jr., Stephanie Burgett, James Clem, Allyson Cross, Jason “Jay” Cross, Andrew Cross, Adrian Day, Nicole Ellis, Laney Gilmer, Kenneth Griffin, Caleb Harris, Lexy House, Lilia Sweet King, Juliet Liles, Carleigh May, Chase Moore, Natalie Riner, Wesley Rollins, Anna Rumore, Dominic Rumore, Charles A. Rumore Jr., Jarred Simmons, Lauren Whitfield and Rebekah Wieczorek.


AAAS also awarded nine Memorial Scholarships, endowed by AAAS members, family and friends. The Dick Bell Memorial Scholarships were awarded to Kathleen Brown and Emmalee Richards, while Avery Kampwerth received the Gertrude Ellis Memorial Scholarship. Turner Seay received the Al Hines Memorial Scholarship, James Durbin was named as the recipient of the Mike Morgan Memorial Scholarship and the Stan Waits Memorial Scholarships were bestowed upon Josie Hughes and Karlee Langley. The Ward Family Scholarships recipients were Reid Burleson and Carter Burleson.


“Additionally, the Foundation has reserved scholarship funds for association members and employees wishing to further their education or enhance their skills at trade schools, junior colleges, manufacturer-sponsored clinics, etc.," said AAAS Foundation Chairman Michael Morgan. “This effort is aimed at enhancing and expanding the capabilities of AAAS members and employees.”


ATDA awarded eight 2019 scholarships to Ellis, Georgia Galloway, Gilmer, House, Mary Mann, Alexis Rice, Lillian Singleton and Anna Willard.


Recipients of ATDA’s scholarships will be honored at the ATDA Convention in Gulf Shores, AL, on June 22. During the Convention, ATDA will announce the winner of its Greg East Memorial Scholarship.


“Thanks to all of the association members and industry contributors for their efforts in making this valuable program possible,” said ATDA President Jeff Ferguson. “Because of the generosity of ATDA members and friends of the association, scholarships are awarded annually to members, their employees and/or family members to assist in their pursuit of higher education. To date, ATDA has awarded over $288,000 in scholarships.”

Previous Page Next Page »

Read 391 times