Tuesday, 23 May 2017 18:11

AAAS Announces 2017 Scholarship Recipients

Written by

On May 11, the Automotive Aftermarket Association Southeast Education Foundation (AAASEF) announced the winners of their 2017 scholarships for the 2017/2018 academic year.

AAAS President Randal Ward stated, “Because of the hard work and dedication of the AAAS volunteer leadership and the unselfish support of the many members and friends of our association, both past and present, 24 scholarships have been awarded for the 2017/2018 school years.”

Thirteen AAASEF scholarships were awarded to the following individuals: David Batley of K-Lene Auto Parts, Lindsey Bearden from Southland International Trucks, Stephanie Burgett of Donnie’s Paint and Body, Adrian Day from Federated, Andrew Golfos of Loxley Auto Parts, Kenneth Griffin from B & C Auto Parts, Julia Griffin of B & C Auto Parts, Zach Poticny from Atlas Gas & Welding Supply, Megan Smith of Cockrell’s Body Shop, Leathel Stone from Southland International Trucks, Haley Turner of Tire & Wheel Professionals, Misty Wisener from McGriff Tire, and Emily Quattlebaum of Fastener Service, Inc.

AAASEF scholarships are reserved for deserving, member-sponsored students pursuing technical two- and four-year degrees. These scholarships benefit aftermarket families and future leaders in the industry and community. Since it was established in 2005, the AAASEF has awarded over 75 scholarships.

An additional 11 memorial scholarships were awarded. These scholarships are endowed by AAAS members, family and friends to honor past association members who have had a profound impact on the association and the industry as a whole.

The Mike Morgan Memorial Scholarships were granted to Charles Rumor and Patrick Rumor of Southern Armature, while Auto Electric and Carburetor’s Olivia Kampwerth and Avery Kampwerth received Gertrude Ellis Memorial Scholarships. The Stan Waits Memorial Scholarship honorees for 2017 are Justin Lee and Jesus Morales of Associate Jobbers Warehouse. Recipients of the Al Hines Memorial Scholarship are Tanner Thompson, Luke Liles and Joshua Liles of Connie Liles Auto Parts, and the Dick Bell Memorial Scholarships were awarded to Kathleen Bell and Emmalee Richards of Auto Supply Company.

In order to enhance and expand the capabilities of AAAS members and their employees, AAASEF has also reserved scholarship funds for association members and their employees who wish to further their education or enhance their skills at trade schools, junior college, OEM-sponsored clinics, etc. AAASEF Chairman Clyde Darville is grateful to the association members and industry contributors whose efforts have made this program possible.

AAAS, as well as several other state and national associations, collaborates with the Global Automotive Aftermarket Symposium (GAAS) Scholarship Committee, which allows students to complete a single online application at www.automotivescholarships.com/AAAS to be eligible for the AAASEF and GAAS scholarships as well as other industry awards.

Read 1162 times