Wednesday, 01 June 2016 17:28

AAAS Awards 20 Scholarships for 2016-2017 School Year

The Automotive Aftermarket Association Southeast (AAAS) recently awarded 20 scholarships for the 2016-2017 academic year.

Fifteen general scholarships were awarded through the AAAS Education Foundation (AAASEF) while the remaining five were memorial scholarships honoring past association members who have had a profound and major impact on the association and the industry as a whole.

AAASEF scholarships are awarded to students who are sponsored by members of the association. This year's AAASEF scholarship recipients include Jordan Battee from Clayton, DE; Kyle Beasley of Honoraville, AL; Stephanie Burgett from Pinson, AL; Adrian Day of Montgomery, AL; Andrew Golfos from Daphne, AL; Taylor Griffin of Andalusia, AL; Cambria Matthews from Pinson, AL; Frances Reilly of Brandon, MS; Emmalee Richards from Lake Whales, FL; Taylor Swindle of Warrior, AL; Kirsten Terhofter from Tallahassee, FL; Cole Turner of Wetumpka, AL; Haley Turner from Wetumpka, AL; Steven Trunec of Hoover, AL; and Emily Quattlebaun from Midland City, AL.

AAAS Memorial Scholarships are endowed by AAAS members, family and friends. The 2016 Dick Bell Memorial Scholarship was awarded to Rachel Berbert of Marianna, FL, and Olivia Kampwerth from Birmingham, AL received the Gertrude Ellis Memorial Scholarship. The Stan Waits Memorial Scholarship was awarded to Justin Lee of Union Grove, AL, while the Al Hines Memorial Scholarship went to Luke Liles of Tallahassee, FL. Alex Ward from Bainbridge, GA received the 2016 Memorial Scholarship.

The AAASEF also reserved scholarship funds for association members and their employees who wish to continue their education or enhance their skills through a variety of forums, including trade schools, junior colleges and manufacturer-sponsored clinics with the goal of expanding and enhancing the skills and knowledge of AAAS members and their employees.

AAAS collaborates with the Global Automotive Aftermarket Symposium (GAAS) Scholarship Committee, which allows students to complete a single online application at automotivescholarships.com/AAAS to be eligible for the AAAS and GAAS scholarships as well as other industry awards.

Read 1265 times