Thursday, 11 November 2010 16:39

NCOIL Property and Casualty Insurance Committee to Meet Nov. 18

The National Conference of Insurance Legislators Property and Casualty Insurance Committee (NCOIL) meetings commence next Thursday, Nov. 18, at the annual NCOIL meeting to be held in Austin, Texas. The Automotive Service Association (ASA) has asked repairers to contact state legislators who serve on this committee prior to the meetings to oppose the proposed Model Act Regarding Motor Vehicle Crash Parts and Repair. This model act has several key provisions that are harmful to the automotive repair industry, including:
•  Concern about the provisions regarding aftermarket parts certification.
•  Lack of a formal consumer written consent process for the use of replacement crash parts.
•  Provisions equating certified aftermarket crash parts to original equipment manufacturer (OEM) parts.
To contact your state legislators who are on the committee regarding these proposed NCOIL model acts, please go to ASA’s legislative Web site at www.TakingTheHill.com. The letter is found in the “Current Alerts” section.

Following is a list of committee members:
Sen. Ruth Teichman, Kan., chairwoman; Sen. Jake Corman, Pa., co-vice chairman; and Rep. Steve Riggs, Ky, co-vice chairman. In addition: Rep. Kurt Olson, Alaska; Rep. Greg Wren, Ala.; Rep. Barry Hyde, Ark.; Sen. Larry Teague, Ark.; Sen. Joe Crisco, Conn.; Rep. Perry Thurston Jr., Fla.; Rep. Rich Golick, Ga.; Sen. Ralph Hudgens, Ga.; Rep. Matt Lehman, Ind.; Sen. Vi Simpson, Ind.; Rep. Ron Crimm, Ky.; Rep. Robert Damron, Ky.; Rep. Ted Edmonds, Ky.; Rep. Chuck Kleckley, La.; Sen. Dan Morrish, La.; Rep. Barb Byrum, Mich.; Rep. Marc Corriveau, Mich.; Sen. Alan Sanborn, Mich.; Rep. Mike Colona, Mo.; Sen. Buck Clarke, Miss.; Sen. Bob Dearing, Miss.; Sen. Dean Kirby, Miss.; Rep. George Keiser, N.D.; Sen. Jerry Klein, N.D.; Rep. Don Flanders, N.H.; Sen. Carroll Leavell, N.M.; Assem. William Barclay, N.Y.; Assem. Nancy Calhoun, N.Y.; Sen. William J. Larkin Jr., N.Y.; Sen. James Seward, N.Y.; Sen. Keith Faber, Ohio; Sen. Karen Gillmor, Ohio; Rep. Jay Hottinger, Ohio; Rep. Robert Godshall, Pa.; Rep. Brian Kennedy, R.I.; Sen. David Bates, R.I.; Sen. William Walaska, R.I.; Rep. Charles Curtiss, Tenn.; Rep. Charles Sargent, Tenn.; Rep. Craig Eiland, Texas; Rep. Larry Taylor, Texas; Rep. Hubert Vo, Texas; Del. Harvey Morgan, Va.; Rep. William Botzow, Vt.; Rep. Kathleen Keenan, Vt.; and Rep. Virginia Milkey, Vt.