Wednesday, 25 November 2020 00:24

Michigan Gov. Makes Appointments to State Council on Future Mobility and Electrification


Michigan Gov. Gretchen Whitmer on Oct. 22 announced appointments to the Michigan Council on Future Mobility and Electrification, which will work to ensure Michigan continues to be the world leader in future mobility, including autonomous and connected vehicle technology, electric powertrain technology and charging infrastructure, and shared and transit mobility option.

“Today’s announcement builds on progress we’ve made this year to cement our status as a hub for innovation and opportunity in the mobility sector, including the launch of the Office of Future Mobility and Electrification and our efforts to build the road of the future between Detroit and Ann Arbor,” said Whitmer.


“In Michigan, where the health of our workers and our economy are directly tied to the health of our auto industry, we will continue engaging in forward-looking policies to remain on the cutting edge of mobility and electrification growth in the state," Whitmer continued. "Since I was sworn in as governor, we have brought in historic investments to our auto plants, creating more than 12,000 Michigan jobs. I will continue working closely with everyone who wants to grow our workforce and economy.”


On Feb. 25, Whitmer signed Executive Order 2020-2, creating the Michigan Council on Future Mobility and Electrification, housed within the Department of Labor and Economic Opportunity, to replace the Council on Future Mobility, which was abolished under the order.


The council will serve in an advisory capacity to LEO and the Office of Future Mobility and Electrification, the governor and the legislature, providing annual recommendations on changes in state policy. In doing so, the council will work to ensure Michigan continues to be an epicenter of future transportation solutions around mobility and electrification.


“The strength of Michigan’s mobility ecosystem is the collaboration that you find happening all across the state, as technology continues to evolve and transportation options grow,” said Lt. Governor Garlin Gilchrist II. “We work together to solve real problems for our residents, our businesses and our communities and to advance our state’s technology and the automotive landscape in a way that also has the potential to improve the quality of life for countless individuals in Michigan."


“Michigan needs to continue leading with innovation and technology," said U.S. Rep. Debbie Dingell. "Establishing the Michigan Council on Future Mobility and Electrification is a key player. Governor Whitmer’s leadership and these strong appointments will go a long way towards ensuring Michigan remains the global center of the auto and mobility industry. I look forward to working with the governor and the council on this critical mission."


“Michigan is well positioned to become a leader in electric vehicles, and to leverage that leadership to build the infrastructure needed to power them,” said Sen. Mallory McMorrow. “I’m excited to continue...

...to collaborate with industry leaders, researchers, environmental groups and other public officials to create a coordinated plan and take advantage of this opportunity.”


The governor has designated the director of the Department of Labor and Economic Opportunity to serve as chairperson of the council. This role is currently being held by Acting Director Susan Corbin, who will serve as chairperson at the pleasure of the governor.


“The efforts of this council will be critical to executing a statewide strategy for mobility and electrification,” Corbin said. “Putting forward the best policies to ensure economic growth, charting new paths for talent and taking a forward-looking approach to infrastructure reinforce Michigan’s culture of innovation and the competitiveness of our automotive core.”


The council will consist of the directors from the Departments of Labor and Economic Opportunity, Transportation, Insurance and Financial Services, State Police, Treasury, Environment, Great Lakes and Energy, and the chairman of the Michigan Public Service Commission.


Additionally, the governor is appointing the following 10 members to the council, all effective Oct. 22:


Robert F. Babik, of Ann Arbor, executive director of global regulatory affairs and sustainability for General Motors, and Stephen J. Bartoli, of Birmingham, vice president of global greenhouse gas compliance for the Fiat Chrysler Automobiles Group (FCA), were appointed to represent business, policy, research or technological leaders in future mobility for four-year terms.


Patrick Cadariu, of Detroit, head of vehicle and trucking supply chain operations for Waymo; Derek S. Caveney, Ph.D., of Plymouth, executive engineer for Toyota’s North American operations; and Chris Nevers, of Dundee, director of environmental engineering and policy at Rivian Automotive; were appointed to represent business, policy, research or technological leaders in future mobility for three-year terms.


Cory Connolly, of Detroit, vice president of policy at the Michigan Energy Innovation Business Council, and Jeffrey A. Dokho, of Huntington Woods, research director for...

...the UAW American Labor Union, were appointed to represent business, policy, research or technological leaders in future mobility for two-year terms.


Emily Frascaroli, of Grosse Ile, managing counsel of the Product Litigation Group at Ford Motor Company, including the product litigation, asbestos, and discovery teams, and a lecturer at the University of Michigan Law School, is appointed to represent insurance interests for a four-year term.


Huei Peng, Ph.D., of Ann Arbor, a professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering at the University of Michigan and the director of Mcity, and Satish S. Udpa, Ph.D., of Okemos, a distinguished professor at Michigan State University and a fellow and editor for the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, were appointed to represent business, policy, research or technological leaders in future mobility for one-year terms.


The following members of the Legislature will serve as non-voting ex officio members of the council: Sen. Ken Horn, McMorrow, Rep. Jim Lilly and Rep. Abdullah Hammoud.


“Today’s announcement on the Council of Future Mobility and Electrification serves to further solidify the state’s progressive mobility initiatives,” said Trevor Pawl, Michigan’s chief mobility officer and head of the state’s Office of Future Mobility and Electrification.


The office coordinates the state’s mobility strategy across governmental entities and industry partners, and will coordinate mobility and electrification policy recommendations from the council.


“Our office is ready and eager to work alongside these exceptional council members to develop and implement meaningful mobility policy for the state of Michigan that will impact generations of Michiganders to come---with safer, cleaner, and equitable mobility solutions,” Pawl said.


These appointments are not subject to the advice and consent of the Senate.


Source: Planet M