Thursday, 05 March 2015 16:00

AASP-IL Holds 2015 Annual Meeting

On February 28, AASP-IL held their annual meeting and hosted board elections. Mike Lane, Executive Director of AASP-IL, says, “The event was well-received. Informal evaluation of the event received two thumbs up!”

Mike Mattson of Accidental Auto Body in Waukegan was elected President, with Bob Gottfred of Chicago’s Eric-LaSalle Body Shop stepping into the role of Vice President. Doug Fiala of Douglas Auto Body in Brookfield will serve as the association’s Secretary and Treasurer. Newly elected directors include Nick DePaul of Parkville Auto Body, Paul Mason of Autonation, Danny Tondu of Continental Motor Groups, and Mayer’s Collision Center’s Joe Mayer. Several gentlemen will continue sitting on AASP-IL’s Board of Directors, such as Brad Zara of Zara’s Collision, Mike Randazzo of Randazzo’s Gallery Collision Center, and AASP-IL’s Immediate Past President Jeff Kallemeyn of Kallemeyn’s Collision Center.

AASP-IL’s annual meeting always features a keynote presentation, and this year’s speaker was Aaron Clark, Vice President of Certification and Network Development for Assured Performance.

Lane states, “Samples of aluminum versus steel quarter panels were on display, thanks to Autonation. Attendees got a clear understanding about aluminum certification and equipment. The program content was excellent, but like all associations, we always hope for larger attendance. This event was important to AASP-IL members, both from an educational perspective and also as an opportunity to dial in on important legislative issues that can impact our industry in Illinois.”