Twitter You Tube Facebook Autobodynews Linked In

Friday, 14 June 2019 20:12

AASP-MN Receives Environmental Leadership Award, Announces Scholarship Recipients

Written by


AASP-MN was recently recognized by the National Steering Committee of Small Business Environmental Assistance Programs (SBEAP) and the Small Business Ombudsmen (SBO) for its leadership in improving environmental performance, pollution prevention, sustainability and mentoring.


“We always welcome the opportunity to work with our government agencies for the benefit of our members,” said AASP-MN Executive Director Judell Anderson. “Our working relationship with the Minnesota Pollution Control Agency provides a great example of the good things that can happen when government and business collaborate toward a common goal.”


AASP-MN received the Environmental Leadership Award as a result of its work with the Minnesota SBEAP on advocacy and education for shops in its footprint. In addition to sharing regulatory information and pollution prevention practices in its magazine, the association keeps shops informed of time-sensitive issues via email and has invited SBEAP to speak about regulatory updates during meetings.


“AASP-MN advocated for regulatory streamlining for the repair industry to reduce the burden of emissions-limited requirements, and assisted shops with switching to water-based coating systems and aqueous parts cleaners to reduce their environmental impact,” Anderson added.


The award was presented to AASP-MN at the 2019 Annual SBEAP/SBO Training in Chicago on May 15.


AASP-MN also awarded $16,000 in scholarships to aid automotive service and collision repair students in paying for tuition or tools for the 2019-2020 school year. Each student received $1000, funds raised by AASP-MN members during the association’s annual fundraising drive as well as through donations from the Minnesota I-CAR Committee and the Bill Smith Fund.


This year’s scholarship recipients were: Jacob Boynton of Minnesota State College, Southeast Technical; Toben DeHaan of Dunwoody College of Technology; Mekiah Grillo of Hennepin Technical College; Jeff Horecka of Dakota County Technical College; Wah Htoo of St. Paul College; Holly Isdahl from Dakota County Technical College; Brady Kellner of Minnesota State College, Southeast Technical; Brenden Kerns from Minnesota State College, Southeast Technical; Grant Leshovsky of Minnesota State Community & Technical College; Samuel Nelson from Ridgewater College; Khoa Luc Nguyen of Hennepin Technical College; Haiden Peterson from Dakota County Technical College, Vincent Sogbey of Anoka Technical College, Angelica Tonge of Dakota County Technical College and Derek Wallrich from Century College.

Previous Page Next Page »