Thursday, 28 February 2019 15:13

AASPI Annual Meeting Features Collision Advice’s Mike Anderson, asTech’s Eric Newell

Written by
Senator Tom Cullerton is sponsoring AASPI’s bill in the state Senate. Senator Tom Cullerton is sponsoring AASPI’s bill in the state Senate.

On Feb. 23, the Alliance of Automotive Service Providers of Illinois (AASPI) held its 2019 Annual Meeting at the Diplomat West in Elmhurst, IL.


The meeting featured presentations by Mike Anderson of Collision Advice and Eric Newell from asTech.


According to AASPI Executive Director Michael Lane, “One-hundred-twelve people attended our 2019 Annual Meeting, eclipsing last year’s attendance.”


Anderson presented “Positioning Yourself in the Collision Repair Program,” during which he discussed the future for collision repairers and how to win. He discussed how telematics and connected vehicles will impact the damage analysis process and FNOL, how to prepare for the fact that 36 percent of consumers want services outside of normal business hours, and how to prepare for predictions that 70 percent of claims will be handled via photo or video re-inspection by 2020. He also delivered an overview of his "Who Pays for What?" surveys and provided an update on OEM certifications.


During his “Why is Post-Repair Calibration So Important?” seminar, Newell discussed why it is critical for repair facilities to understand which systems may be impacted by the repair process and how calibrating the ADAS is vital to a properly and safely functioning vehicle.


AASPI also invited Senator Tom Cullerton and Representative Elizabeth Hernandez to the meeting to discuss the association’s legislative initiatives for the year.


“During the meeting, AASPI lobbyist Brian Wojcicki provided a legislative review of the association’s principal legislation calling for all estimates to be written with OEM repair procedures and OEM parts,” Lane explained. “On hand to talk about this legislation was Senator Cullerton, who is sponsoring our bill in the state Senate. State Representative Hernandez, who is sponsoring our bill in the House of Representatives, also sat down with our leadership team during the meeting.”

AASPI also held elections for its board of directors. Bob Gottfred of Erie-LaSalle Body Shop was elected president; Doug Fiala of Douglas Auto Body was elected vice president; Paul Mason of AutoNation was elected secretary/treasurer; and Tim Paap of Paap Auto Body and Tom Stiefbold of O’Hare Auto Body were elected directors.


AASPI’s 2019 Annual Meeting was sponsored by Hawk Auto Group, AkzoNobel, asTech, Axalta Coating Systems, Enterprise Holdings, Jack Phelan Chrysler Jeep Dodge Ram Countryside Mopar Warehouse, FinishMaster, PPG, Bionic Auto Parts & Sales, Erie-LaSalle Body Shops, Mayer’s Collision Center, Parkville Auto Body, ABC Auto Parts and NCS/Single Source.


For more information on AASPI, visit aaspi.org.

Read 867 times