Sunday, 30 April 2006 17:00

SCRS celebrates 24-year history with luncheon

Written by Autobody News staff
Rate this item
(0 votes)

SCRS celebrated its 24-year history sharing the motto, "Working together is the most important work we do," at the 2006 Appreciation Lunch in Portland, Oregon, April 6. Incumbent Tom Moreland, Akzo Nobel Coatings, will serve another term as SCRS chairman. 

Active Image
Tom Moreland, SCRS Chairman (left), and Stacy Bartnik (far right), SCRS secretary, present Gene Hamilton (c) with the SCRS Lifetime Achievement Award. Pictured are family members (from left) Janette Hamilton, Gene Hamilton, Norma Hamilton and Michelle Hamilton-Franklin.
Other 2006-07 officers include vice-chairman, Gary Wano, Jr., GW & Sons, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma; secretary, Stacy Bartnik, Carstar, Chicago, Illinois; treasurer, Chad Sulkala, Acme Body & Paint, Boston, Massachusetts, and director at large Barry Dorn, Dorn's Body & Paint, Mechanicsville, Virginia.

Moreland went on to recognize the efforts of SCRS Executive Director Dan Risley and Administrator Linda Atkins. "We want to pay tribute to Dan and Linda and thank them for the outstanding job they do for SCRS."

Moreland recognized the current and past board of directors, thanking them for their tireless efforts. "In a historical context," he continued, "it is important to look forward. SCRS and its board of directors is a good balance of youth and experience."

Crowning event

The annual luncheon is a crowning event for SCRS - an opportunity to recognize the past year's industry achievements. Bob Smith, executive director SCRS MoKan Chapter, Kansas City, Missouri, accepted the Affiliate Association Award, given to a SCRS affiliate that exhibits exemplary action on behalf of the collision repair industry. The MoKan Chapter is the first chapter of SCRS.

The Outstanding Individual Service Awards - given to individuals who exhibit exemplary actions in the collision repair industry went to Lou DiLisio, Automotive Industry Consulting, Chicago, and Barry Dorn.

The Humanitarian Award recognizes individuals in the collision industry whose efforts advance the collision repair industry through support of humanitarian activities in their community outside the industry. Three Humanitarian Awards were given - all related to hurricane relief efforts. Recipients were Jordan Hendler, administrator, National Auto Body Council; Mike Quinn, 911 Collision Centers; and Janet Chaney, Cave Creek Business Development and contributor to AutoBody News.

Akzo Nobel honored

Jim Rees, General Manager Akzo Nobel Car Refinishes Americas, commented on Akzo Nobel's receipt of the 2006 SCRS Non-Individual Service Award, given for their sponsorship of two support programs for the industry - Most Influential Women of the Collision Repair Industry (MIW) and the Collision Industry Advancement Initiative (CIAI).

The award is given to an organization or group within the collision industry that exhibits actions that would be considered exemplary in maintaining and advancing the Collision Repair Industry. Stacy Bartnik, SCRS Awards Committee chair noted, "When looking at what Akzo Nobel has done in the past and continues to do for our industry, it was an obvious choice for the SCRS Awards committee to present Akzo Nobel with the Collision Industry Service Award."

Lifetime achievement

Only five Lifetime Achievement Awards have been bestowed throughout the 24-year history of SCRS. Past recipients have been Sal Donzella, John Loftus, Bill Wicklund, Jeff Hendler and Chuck Sulkala. "This is an enormous privilege of my professional career," Moreland proudly said, "to ask Gene Hamilton to come to the podium to receive the SCRS Lifetime Achievement Award." Hamilton, Sports and Imports, Atlanta, Georgia was overwhelmed with emotion when his family, secretly flown in from Atlanta, was on the podium to receive the award with him. Hamilton's 81-year-old mother Norma Hamilton and daughters Michelle Frank-lin and Janette Hamilton were able to keep the secret from Hamilton.


Read 8288 times