Tuesday, 31 May 2005 17:00

Californian elected new ASA chairman

ASA held its annual business meeting in April in Fort Worth, Texas. The event provided a forum for several association leadership activities including open meetings of the ASA affiliate assembly and board of directors; a State of the Association address by Ron Pyle, ASA's president and chief staff executive; and the installation of the 2005-06 board of directors. 

Active Image

Denny Kahler, AAM, Kahler's Werk-statt, Dublin, California, was named chairman of ASA's board of directors for 2005-06. Kahler assumed the chairman's post at the conclusion of the annual meeting.

Kahler succeeds Geralynn Kottschade, AAM, Jerry's Body Shop Inc. in Mankato, Minnesota. Kottschade moves to the past chairman's seat on the board of directors for one year.

Other members of ASA's 2005-06 board include Charles Elder, AAM, chairman-elect, Ray Gordon Brake Service, Tallahassee, Florida; and Aaron Clements, AAM, secretary/treasurer, C&C Automotive, Augusta, Georgia.

Serving as general directors are Reggie Denney, AAM, Reggie Denney Auto Repair, Eden, N.C.; Mike Mahneke, AAM, Mahneke Motors, Goleta, California; and Ben Steinman, AAM, Ben's Auto Body, Mexico, Missouri.

Serving as affiliate directors are Dennis Sterwerf, AAM, Fairfield Auto & Truck Service, Fairfield, Ohio; Stephen Keller, AAM, Keller Import Service Inc., Easley, S.C.; and Ron Nagy, AAM, Nagy's Body & Frame Shop Inc., Doylestown, Ohio.

The final two board positions are held by the Collision and Mechanical Di-vision directors: Dar-rell Amberson, AAM, Lehman's Garage, Bloomington, Min-nesota; and Earl Dohner, AAM, E&E's Garage, Brookville, Ohio.

Ron Pyle, ASA president and chief staff executive, also serves on the ASA board of directors in an ex officio capacity. Members of the 2005-06 ASA Executive Committee are Kahler, Kott-schade, Elder, Clements and Sterwerf.

Also on the ASA Annual Business Meeting agenda was a six-credit Auto-motive Management Institute (AMI) course, "The Rewards and Challenges of Family-Owned Businesses," presented by Mike Henning.

During the meeting, Pyle delivered his State of the Association address focusing on ASA's strategic plan and the ongoing initiatives of both staff and volunteer leadership. The Saturday luncheon also showcased the swearing-in ceremony for the new board and the passing of the gavel ceremony.

ASA supports passage of Perkins Act

The U.S. House of Representatives has passed the Carl D. Perkins Vocational and Technical Education bill, H.R. 366, by a vote of 416-9. The measure will reauthorize the 1998 Carl D. Perkins Vocational and Technical Education Act through 2011. It will also provide federal grants to states for supplemental programs.

The House adopted by voice vote an amendment offered by Rep. Juanita Millender-McDonald (D-Calif.) to include funds to be used to train automotive technicians on alternative fuel technologies, such as hybrid and hydrogen cars.

H.R. 366 was introduced by Rep. Michael Castle (R-Del), chairman of the House Education and Workforce Education Reform Subcommittee.

The administration's fiscal year 2006 budget proposal calls for eliminating $1.3 billion that provides for vocational education training to states.

The U.S. Senate has passed its version of the bill, S. 250, by unanimous vote.

"Continued funding for vocational and technical education is a top priority for the Automotive Service Association (ASA). We want to thank all those who contacted their congressmen on behalf of H.R. 366," said Bob Redding, ASA's Washington, D.C., representative. "We also are very appreciative to members of the House for their support of the McDonald amendment, which helps ensure a strong future for independent repairers."