Friday, 03 May 2013 17:03

CREF and Partners Announce $300K in Student Scholarships

The Collision Repair Education Foundation announced the first round of winners of several scholarships and tool grants.

These awards are part of over $300,00 in scholarships given out in May 2013 by the Collision Repair Education Foundation.

The Collision Repair Education Foundation Scholarship is in its sixth year and is funded by the entire collision industry through the Collision Repair Education Campaign. The Education Foundation Scholarships offer students financial assistance with tuition and other costs associated with their collision education. 


Winners of the GEICO's national scholarships and tool grants are: Kyle Wright, Chantilly STEM Academy, Chantilly, VA; Olivia Barszczewski, Alfred State, Alfred, NY; Shannon Braswell, Sarasota County Technical Institute, Sarasota, FL; and Gerardo Olivera, Cerritos College, Norwalk, CA. Each student will receive a $1,000 scholarship and $1,000 (retail) in tools.

Winners of the Gerber Collision & Glass student scholarships and tool grant winners are: Lino Meraz and Asare Boatneg, both of Lincoln College of Technology, Melrose Park, IL. The students received $2,000 scholarship and $1,000 in tools.

Winners of the PPG Industries Foundation scholarships are: Joseph Crawford, Arkansas State in Marked Tree, Marked Tree, AR; Justin Furman, Washtenaw Community College, Ann Arbor, MI; Jessie Jensen, Bridgerland Applied Technology College, Logan, UT; and Ryan Stenzel,Ridgewater College, Willmar, MN. These students received a $5,000 scholarship. In addition, Jonathan Thigpin, Rolla Technical Institute, Rolla, MO, won a $750 scholarship for the PPG MVP Industry Student Scholarship.

Winners of the Service King spring tool chest grant are: Sierra Pellettieri, EVIT (Mesa, AZ); Matthew Adams, Universal Technical Institute, Belton, TX; Jovanny Jimenez, Texas State Technical College, Waco, TX; Sherdrick Russell, Universal Technical Institute, Houston, TX; and Andreass Berryman, EVIT Trade School, Mesa, AZ. These five students each received a 7-drawer roll cabinet and five-drawer top chest, valued t $2,00 each.

Winners of the Alliance of Automotive Service Providers Massachusetts (AASP-MA)tool grants are: Paul Ballota, Shawsheen Valley Technical High School, Billerica, MA; William Clough, Shawsheen Valley Technical High School, Billerica, MA; and Yscasia Cummings, Southeastern Regional Vocational Technical High School, South Easton, MA. Winners received $1,200 in tools.

Winners of the CCC Michael Salvatore Memorial Student Repair Technician Scholarships: Brian Stevenson, Francis Tuttle Technology Center, Oklahoma City, OK. Brian won the top scholarship of $5,000; and two students won the $2,000 scholarships: Stephanie Franklin, Lansing Community College, Lansing, MI; and Diego Trujillo, Wiregrass Georgia Technical College, Valdosta, GA; Evan Scott, Pennsylvania College of Technology,Williamsport, PA.

The Collision Repair Education Foundation also awarded several students with scholarships. The secondary student winner of a $5,000 award is Shelby Williams, Applied Technology Center, Rock Hill, SC. The post-secondary $5,000 award recipient is Shena White, Cape Fear Community College, Wilmington, NC.

In addition, three students won the Lon Baudoux Legacy Scholarship. Recipients of the $1,000 award are: Erick Escobar, Norwalk High School, Norwalk, CA; Tyler Hardin, OSU Institute of Technology, Okmulgee, OK; and Antonio Fondren, Hennepin Technical College, Brooklyn Park, MN. The Lon Baudoux Legacy Scholarship is in its fifth year and was created to honor Lon Baudoux, I-CAR Development Manager, who passed away in November 2008. Lon highly valued education, especially for secondary and post-secondary students studying collision repair. This scholarship is funded mainly by I-CAR staff and I-CAR instructors who worked with Lon at I-CAR. The selection of this award is based on a student that not only excels inside the classroom, but also participates in outside activities such as clubs, sports, and volunteering.

Additional scholarships include the Collision Repair Education Foundation Board of Trustees Scholarship. This $2,000 award went to secondary student Brian Stade, Applied Technology Center, Rock Hill, SC, and to post-secondary student Zach Reisner, Hennepin Technical College, Brooklyn Park, MN.

The Domenic Brusco–Wyo-Tech Collision Repair Student Scholarship, a $850 award, went to Zachary Gullion, WyoTech, Blairsville, PA. The Domenic Brusco Scholarship is funded by Collision Repair Education Foundation Board of Trustee member Domenic Brusco.

Read 1551 times