Tuesday, 20 July 2021 22:23

Automotive Hall of Fame Award Ceremony to Recognize Mobility Industry Innovators, Influencers


Share This:


The 2020/2021 Automotive Hall of Fame’s Induction and Awards Ceremony, taking place July 22, will recognize innovators and influencers from across the global mobility industry.

This year’s class mirrors the evolution of the automotive industry and is comprised of a diverse group of visionaries.


“This class of awardees and inductees is the Automotive Hall of Fame’s most diverse in terms of geographical region, race, gender and industry sector. Adding to that, we have added a new award---Mobility Innovator Award,” said Ramzi Hermiz, chairman of the Automotive Hall of Fame Board of Directors. “It is our goal to recognize all individuals who have made clear and compelling contributions that helped shape the automotive industry.”


2020/2021 Automotive Hall of Fame Inductees


Induction into the Automotive Hall of Fame is reserved for noteworthy individuals whose efforts have created, shaped and changed the automotive and mobility market. It is considered the single greatest honor an individual can receive in the automotive industry.


Since the postponement of the Induction and Awards Ceremony in 2020, three additional inductees have been added to the Class of 2020/2021:


  • C.R. and Frederick Patterson---C.R. Patterson & Sons (later the Greenfield Bus Body Company). Founded in the 1920s, this car company was the first, and only, Black-owned and -operated car manufacturing company. It was known for high quality and an integrated workforce.
  • Charles Wiggins, who was barred from participating in white-only events, including the Indianapolis 500, led in the parallel Colored Speedway Association (CSA) championships, becoming a four-time winner of the Gold and Glory Sweepstakes. Known nationally as the “Negro King of Speed,” Charlie was a notable driver and an exceptional mechanic and engineer.


The previously announced inductees of this year’s class include:


  • Honorary Chairman Mong-Koo Chung, the innovative leader and former chairman, who grew Hyundai/Kia into the world’s fifth largest car manufacturer and established the Hyundai brand synonymous for quality and reliability.
  • Thomas Gallagher, the former chairman and president of Genuine Parts Corporation who successfully championed the independent owner model of NAPA stores, promoting distribution models that kept stores competitive and rooted in their communities, and advocated right-to-repair legislation.
  • Jay Leno, founder of the Emmy Award-winning series, “Jay Leno’s Garage.” Leno is capturing generations of automotive enthusiasts through his passion for all things automotive.
  • Helene Rother, known for her impeccable taste in design. Rother moved the post-war car market from interiors designed for utility to ones designed for luxury and sophistication. She was also the first woman hired in the styling department of General Motors.

Previous Page Continue reading »