Tuesday, 24 October 2017 21:54

CREF Announces Winner of Student of the Year Award

The Collision Repair Education Foundation has selected the winner of its “Collision Students of the Year” award.

This year’s recipient, nominated by her collision instructor, Andy Retz, is Rosalinda Pop-Pablo, a high school senior studying collision repair at Lorenzo Walker Technical College in Naples, FL.

Both the winner and her instructor will receive a trip to SEMA 2017, where the pair will be honored at the Education Foundation’s evening reception on Tuesday, Oct. 31.

“Although she is a high school senior, and therefore younger than most of the student in my auto collision repair program here at Lorenzo Walker Technical College in Naples, Florida, Rosalinda has demonstrated more ambition and determination than any student in recent memory,” said Retz in his nomination letter to the Foundation. “She is an inspiration to young people everywhere considering entering the auto body business.”

The Foundation also announced two individuals who were runners-up for the 2017 Student of the Year award. The runners up include:

Makayla Baldwin, Bradley Central High School, Cleveland, TN

Dylan Wertz, Sentinel Career & Technology Center, Tiffin, OH

All industry members are welcome to join the Collision Repair Education Foundation during SEMA 2017 to celebrate Pop-Pablo’s achievement. She will be honored at the Collision Repair Education Foundation Industry Reception at 9 p.m. on Tuesday, Oct. 31 at the Renaissance Hotel. To RSVP for the event, please email info@ed-foundation.org.

Read 772 times