Wednesday, 27 May 2015 00:00

CREF and 3M Announce Winners for the Hire Our Heroes Grants

The Collision Repair Education Foundation (CREF) and 3M are proud to announce the 43 winners for the first round of this year’s 3M Hire Our Heroes awards. The winners include 35 students that are currently studying collision repair, and who have served or are currently serving in the military. Each winning student had the opportunity to select $3,000 worth of tools to help them in their education and for employment after graduation.

3M Hire Our Heroes Veteran Grant Recipients

  • Allen Martin (Lincoln College of Technology, Nashville, TN)
  • Brad Gilliam (Blue Ridge Community College, Flat Rock, NC)
  • Christopher Kelly (Hawaii Community College, Hilo, HI)
  • Clynt Holt (Universal Technical Institute, Houston, TX)
  • Cory Stead (OSU Institute of Technology, Okmulgee, OK)
  • Danny Lewis (Wiregrass Technical College, Valdosta, GA)
  • Danny Taylor (Parkland Community College, Champaign, IL)
  • David Crank (Pulaski Technical College, Little Rock, AR)
  • Derrick Palmer (Southeastern Community College, West Burlington, IA)
  • Frank Wiginton (Itawamba Community College, Tupelo, MS)
  • Gabriel Davis (Ivy Tech Community College, Fort Wayne, IN)
  • Henry Bunk (Erie Community College, Orchard Park, NY)
  • Jacob Truckey (Washtenaw Community College, Ann Arbor, MI)
  • James Roush (Lake Technical Institute, Eustis, FL)
  • James Wood (Manhattan Area Technical College, Manhattan, KS)
  • Jedidiah Long (Tennessee College of Applied Technology, Knoxville, TN)
  • John Newman (Washburn Institute of Technology, Topeka, KS)
  • Jorge Maya (Kennedy King College, Chicago, IL)
  • Joseph Gates (Hawkeye Community College, Waterloo, IA)
  • Joseph Normandin (Texas State Technical College, Waco, TX)
  • Joseph Shatterly (Universal Technical Institute, Houston, TX)
  • Julian Rorie (Forsyth Technical Community College, Winston-Salem, NC)
  • Kevin Thomas (Gadsden State Community College, Anniston, AL)
  • Larry Boyce (Withlacoochee Technical College, Inverness, FL)
  • Martin Zurita (Idaho State University, Pocatello, ID)
  • Michael Brewer (Tennessee College of Applied Technology, Paris, TN)
  • Michael Cook (Wisconsin Indianhead Technical College, Rice Lake, WI)
  • Paul Hyde (Ivy Tech Community College, Fort Wayne, IN)
  • Philip McKee (Texas State Technical College, Bellmead, TX)
  • Ray Alston (Guilford Technical Community College, Jamestown, NC)
  • Robyn Wood (Aims Community College, Greeley, CO)
  • Roland Greer (OSU Institute of Technology, Okmulgee, OK)
  • Ronald Woolett (Sandhills Community College, Pinehurst, NC)
  • Sean Holmgren (Great Plains Technology Center, Lawton, OK)
  • Thomas Thon (Great Plains Technology Center, Lawton, OK)

In addition, eight collision students that have immediate family members that served or are serving in the military were selected as scholarship winners. Each student received a scholarship between $1,000-$2,500 to help with their education costs:

  • 3M Hire Our Heroes – Veteran Family Award Recipients
  • Amanda Prince (Cape Fear Community College, Wilmington, NC)
  • Andrew Moxley (Applied Technology Center, Rock Hill, SC)
  • Brianna Fleming (Indiana County Technology Center, Indiana, PA)
  • Caitlin Baier (Fox Valley Technical College, Appleton, WI)
  • Jospeh Cebreiros (Academy for Careers and Technology, Marion, SC)
  • Joseph Shatterly (Universal Technical Institute, Houston, TX)
  • Roland Greer (OSU Institute of Technology, Okmulgee, OK)
  • Sean McCallister (Middle Bucks Institute of Technology, Jamison, PA)

If interested in hiring one of these students, please send business information, including location, to the Collision Repair Education Foundation at info@ed-foundation.org and the organization will help introduce both parties for potential employment opportunities.

Additional information on 3M Automotive Aftermarket Division can be found at www.3Mcollision.com

Read 1437 times