JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 580
Wednesday, 27 May 2015 00:00

Collision Repair Education Foundation Announces 2015 Scholarship Winners

The Collision Repair Education Foundation (CREF) announced the recipients of the scholarships in collision repair that were created to assist deserving students pursuing a career in the collision industry. These awards are part of over $200,000 in scholarships given out in May 2015 by the Collision Repair Education Foundation:

Lon Baudoux Legacy Scholarship Recipient

$1,000 award:

  • Dymond Braun (Aims Community College, Windsor, CO)
  • Dillon Bullard    (Wilkes Community College, Wilkesboro, NC)
  • Melanie Thomas (Marengo Community High School, Marengo, IL)
  • Shelby Woods    (Southwestern Community College, Creston, IA)
  • Jeremy Young    (Warren Central Walker Career Center, Indianapolis, IN)

The Lon Baudoux Legacy Scholarship is in its seventh year and was created to honor Lon Baudoux, I-CAR Development Manager, who passed away in November 2008. Baudoux highly valued education, especially for secondary and post-secondary students studying collision repair. This scholarship is funded mainly by I-CAR staff and I-CAR instructors who worked with Baudoux at I-CAR.

The selection of this award is based on a student that not only excels inside the classroom, but also participates in outside activities such as clubs, sports and volunteering. The funds go to help the student finance his/her education.

Collision Repair Education Foundation Board of Trustees Scholarship/Tool Grant Recipients

$2,000 scholarship:

  • Hugo Alvarado (Monroe Technology Center, Leesburg, VA)
  • Joseph Gates (Hawkeye Community College, Waterloo, IA)

$1,000 scholarship:

  • Jose Suarez (Yakima Valley Technical Skills Center, Yakima, WA)
  • Trey Trotter (Washtenaw Community College, Ann Arbor, MI)
  • Evan Vail (Applied Technology Center, Rock Hill, SC)

$1,500 tool kit:

  • Gregory Kranke (Lake Technical Center, Eustis, FL)

The CREF Board of Trustees Scholarship is funded by the members of the Board of Trustees. The Board of Trustees Scholarship offers students financial assistance with tuition and other costs associated with their collision education.

Collision Repair Education Foundation Tool Grant Recipients

  • Hugo Alvarado (Monroe Technology Center, Leesburg, VA)
  • Josue De La Cruz (West-Mec, Phoenix, AZ)
  • Steven Downing (Tennessee College of Applied Technology, Crossville, TN)
  • Uziel Ramos (Metro Tech High School, Phoenix, AZ)
  • Jose Suarez (Yakima Valley Technical Skills Center, Yakima, WA)
  • Evan Vail (Applied Technology Center, Rock Hill, SC)
  • Jose Zermeno (Technical College High School, West Grove, PA)

Industry members and companies that are interested in sponsoring their own, named student scholarship through the Collision Repair Education Foundation should contact Director of Development Brandon Eckenrode 847-463-5244 or Brandon.Eckenrode@ed-foundation.org.

Read 1345 times